Here’s a fun visual tour of a hidden corner of Noe Valley. Comerford Alley is a rustic quasi-paved alley that runs from Sanchez to Church, between 27th and Duncan streets. It’s named after Joseph Comerford, a developer who built a bunch of single-family homes in 1870s, ‘80s and ‘90s in Noe Valley. Comerford built so many houses in this corner of Noe Valley that at the time it was known as Comerfordville.
Most of the houses Comerford designed were simple one-story flat front Italianates with central entrances flanked by windows. Some Comerford houses are still around, including the ones built in 1879 at 225 and 227 27th Street.
Today, the alley is a favorite passage for dog owners to walk their pets and a garden backdoor for many of the residents on that street. Photographer Ted Weinstein recently snapped some great shots of the doorways of Comerford.
It’s a charming collection of secret entryways and a fun stroll down the alley. You can see the full collection in a slideshow on Ted Weinstein's site - thanks to the reader who sent us the link!
[Top photos Google Maps, bottom photos Ted Weinstein]